Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any legal concerns we suggest you consult a solicitor.

Nearby house is now a holiday let

(13 Posts)
SimonsPies Sat 22-Apr-17 13:05:32

NC for this. We live in a small gated development. When we bought our houses we all signed an agreement relating to matters concerning the development. One clause was that the houses may not be used as holiday lets. One of the houses has now been sold on and guess what, it's a holiday let on Airbnb.

I've contacted the developer who is still running the 'management company' to ask for his opinion (and just possibly he gave permission for this, though I doubt it).

I'm not happy about this for various reasons and am wondering where we stand. Can anyone advise? Thanks.

SimonsPies Sat 22-Apr-17 19:08:07

Bump.

mrsmalcolmreynolds Sun 23-Apr-17 13:10:05

I'm not a property lawyer but I'd guess what action is available will depend on what sort of legal agreement sets out the prohibition on holiday lets. If it is a covenant on each owner's title to their property then that will be on the land register which I would also expect to have details of who has the right to enforce the restriction. If it was a freestanding contract then you'll need to look at that document to see who has the right to do what in terms of enforcement.

SimonsPies Sun 23-Apr-17 14:19:44

Thanks. I'll look further into what exactly we signed.

babybarrister Tue 25-Apr-17 18:45:26

There is another angle which is that if there is a mortgage it is very unlikely that they have given permission - you can find out if they have a mortgage and who with by doing a land registry search

SimonsPies Thu 27-Apr-17 11:49:44