Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any legal concerns we suggest you consult a solicitor.

Interview under caution advice

(15 Posts)
Anonforthis46 Mon 03-Apr-17 22:42:40

I received a letter today from a train company today. It was very vague giving no specific dates asking me to come in for an interview under caution in regards to ticket irregularities. I am new to working in london (other jobs i have driven to) and after researching am mortified to find out i have been using the wrong ticket and it has now been flagged! Ive never been stopped so had no idea until this letter came through the post and have happily been going to and from work with no issues for nearly 8 months!! I have been having panic attacks and unable to eat or sleep or what to do! Do i attend the interview or will this just incriminate me further? I cant afford legal representation do i just go and apologise profusely and offer to pay the balance? I have no idea if they have the full history of my travel or just recently, should i just be completely honest or let them use the evidence they have? I realise ignorance is no excuse and im so worried i am going to be sent to court and convicted. Ive not got any sort of criminal record or been in trouble before. What sort of advice would you give here? There are so many conflicting opinions online. Some saying to offer to pay what you owe and others saying to not give them any extra information for evidence they dont already have as it will only incriminate you further?? What do i do?? sad

antimatter Mon 03-Apr-17 22:46:17

Were you using Oyster or contactless or a paper ticket to travel?

I can imagine only paper ticket can be used in a wrong zone

Fozzleyplum Mon 03-Apr-17 22:47:19