Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any legal concerns we suggest you consult a solicitor.

grandparents contact

(14 Posts)
rickeys16v Thu 02-Feb-17 02:46:35

hi guys this is my first time posting so please go easy. im looking for some advice. in aug 2015 we had a family holiday which included mil and fil it didnt go as planned and things got a bit tense nearing the end. anyway to cut a long story short we havent saw them since even when our youngest got burnt and her son had a breakdown not once did she call to.see if they were ok. in 18 months not a visit a card or anything to any of the kids. and two weeks ago my husband and i were issued with a summons to court for contact. my question is has anyone else had similar problems.

girlelephant Thu 09-Feb-17 16:29:59

Bumping for you

Suggest you add country of residence as my understanding was in many countries (incl uK) GPs do not have access rights

BonnyScotland Thu 09-Feb-17 16:32:40

UK Law

Family courts do recognise the invaluable role that grandparents have to play in their grandchildrens lives and it is very rare that the court would refuse a grandparent access to grandchildren unless there is evidence of abuse or violence.

seek legal advice soon

MrsBertBibby Thu 09-Feb-17 18:18:54

UK law?

rickeys16v Thu 09-Feb-17 18:46:15

yea sorry northern ireland

Ilovecaindingle Thu 09-Feb-17 18:51:26

Mediation is a legal requirement before a court will consider hearing a case. Just Googled this!! Lots of info on there!!! If they haven't tried any form of contact since then I wouldn't be too worried. How old are the dc? Would they still know them?

rickeys16v Fri 10-Feb-17 07:14:01

10, 7 and 3 the older two dont want to have contact the younger i would doubt they would remember its been 18 months

wingingitmomma Fri 10-Feb-17 07:33:43