Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any legal concerns we suggest you consult a solicitor.

Probate /closing accounts / statutory declaration.

(16 Posts)
Helenluvsrob Tue 05-Apr-16 21:16:14

Hi

Dad has died. I managed his finance under power of attorney. I have a degree of experience if finance after a death. As dealt ŵith mums stuff last year.

His will is simple. Everything split 50/50 with my sister. Funeral is payed etc

We registered the death etc today. Tried to close the account with a building society - has 1600 in it and he said " we'll send it off and release it when you have probate.

As far as I can see we don't need probate. Well under inheritance tax threshold etc. So he said we need a " statutory declaration " by a solicitor.

Why? What is this all about?

With mum ( same situation but house to sell) we were either given a cheque at the time, or the money sent later . We only went to probate as there was a property to sell ( Half proceeds went to dad and a lot has gone on 18 months are costs ).

So why is the building soc playing silly beggars ? Or are they doing the right thing? The chap was nice enough but it was clear he was basically following the instructions on screen stage by stage so I must say I didn't ask!

prh47bridge Tue 05-Apr-16 22:11:18

The building society is making sure that you have the right to administer your father's estate. That's what probate is for.

MeridianB Thu 07-Apr-16 13:59:37

Condolences, OP.

Prh47 is correct. Pretty sure they pay the monies to your solicitor, not to you.

Are you named as the executor in the will?

Helenluvsrob Thu 07-Apr-16 14:15:15

Executor yep. No solicitor involved. Very very simple will 50/50 split with my sister. All in agreement etc.