Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any legal concerns we suggest you consult a solicitor.

Court orders restrictions

(4 Posts)
Katykatekate Mon 15-Jun-15 19:37:23

Hi, I'm new to this and was looking for some advice. I know I need to book a solicitors appointment.

My situation is 5 years ago my sons father took me to court to obtain access after several different court orders the final desision was made and is still in place currently that my son visits on the weekends sat-sun every other weekend. But last week I had a phone call from my sons grandmother telling me he was currently in prison awaiting his court date in a few months time (August) which is highly likely he will be found guilty as the evidence is there.

My question is now does this court order still stand? would I be made to take my 6 year old son to prison if he requested? Can I now get a new court order? Anything is much appriecated.

HeadDoctor Mon 15-Jun-15 22:19:31

You could apply for a variation.

WellWhoKnew Mon 15-Jun-15 22:22:05

My understanding is that you can ask for a variation order whenever circumstances change significantly (clearly they have here!) but you can't make the variation yourself - you must seek out the court's permission when it's court ordered.