Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any legal concerns we suggest you consult a solicitor.

A photo of my face has been used in a publication is this legal?

(14 Posts)
againsttheoddsididit Sun 16-Feb-14 05:30:56

I am a teacher. Recently a pupil came to me and said that he had seen a picture of me in a library book. I thought he was joking. He showed the photo to me. It was a photo of a woman (with my face, not body) lying in the red sea reading a newspaper. I was completely shocked. It was definitely me, There was nothing offensive about the photo. It was an Usbourne science publication aimed at older primary school children. Is it illegal to use my photo in a a publication in this way?

Eminybob Sun 16-Feb-14 05:38:03

Are you 100% sure it wasn't just a really uncanny doppelgänger ?

againsttheoddsididit Sun 16-Feb-14 05:46:26

No I am not 100% sure but 98%. It was almost certainly me.

FatNotFit Sun 16-Feb-14 06:12:25

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

RedHelenB Sun 16-Feb-14 11:13:03

Have you been in the red sea reading a newspaper? If not, then it won't be you anyway surely?

Lilymaid Sun 16-Feb-14 11:23:58

Red Sea or Dead Sea? The Dead Sea is the one you can float in easily because of its high salt content. (Not that this helps answer OP's question)

LauraBridges Sun 16-Feb-14 15:30:19

It depends. Under the Data Protection Act 1998 you cannot use intrusive pictures, e.g. telephoto lens on private land but you can say take footage of people attending a football match and use it without their permission. it is pretty likely therefore you were on a public beach and they could use the image in my view so I doubt you'll make millions from this or get all the books scrapped but you could certainly write to the publishers and see what they say. Also they are not suggesting you endorsed a product. It is just a random picture so probably okay in law in my view.