Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any legal concerns we suggest you consult a solicitor.

Contact Hearing Tomorrow

(19 Posts)
Smo2 Wed 10-Apr-13 09:59:42

Short Story - ex is an arse, has been a nightmare over contact, eventually I lost the plot and applied to court to force him into mediation. THe day after I served him with papers, he completely changed into the worlds most reasonable man.

I'm just a bit scared, I've never done anything like this before and I'm representing myself. Anyone done this before? Any advice?

Thanks xx

lostdad Wed 10-Apr-13 10:41:37

Yes. Don't go in alone. You'll need someone with a cool head and able to take notes as you can't talk and write at the same time. You really should have sent a letter to the court to inform it you are using a McKenzie Friend (lay assistant) by now but most courts won't have a problem if they are reasonable - in theory it shouldn't be someone who has an interest in the case (i.e. family member or friend but now legal aid has dried up and there are more litigants in person some courts seem to be OK with this).

Get there early. If you can agree something before you see a judge/magistrate great - it can just be rubber stamped and you can all go home and get on with your life.

If it comes to a court order make sure it is drafted tightly to stop him messing around the conditions of it (i.e. if you agree `every other weekend' make sure you both agree what constitutes a weekend...he may think it may mean collection and handover at school, you may say it's Saturday morning until Sunday tea time, etc.)

If you ex has a solicitor it is his/her job to help you and not to mislead and/or bully you. Be nice to the solicitor but don't be intimidated - they're there because your ex is paying them to be.