Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any legal concerns we suggest you consult a solicitor.

Legal Ombudsman

(8 Posts)
OmbudsmanAdvice Wed 13-Jul-11 08:25:31

I'm not really expecting resident sols to love me for this...

I complained to LO about online law company's consent order. Child maintenance was included as a recital rather than part of the order.

I requested 'all' to be in order and anticipated this. Didn't appreciate it wasn't, until he stopped paying.

LO agrees sol should have made me aware they had not included it. Does not agree they should compensate me for the loss caused by lack of payment and inability to register order.

My questions are 1) is this reasonable? 2)Do most sols include CM in first consent order at point of divorce? (I know it 'lasts' only 12 months). I thought CMEC were advising CO used now to settle CM?

bringinghomethebacon Wed 13-Jul-11 10:04:09

As a family solicitor I would include it within the main body of the consent order yes and I would say it is wrong to put in a recital. I am surprised the court approved it like that. However as you say the order can only last 12 months. You can opt for a CSA assessment now so you are losing out on the difference between the CSA assessment and whatever you had agreed in the consent order between the time he stopped paying and the time when the 12 months would have expired anyway. How much is what exactly, I would be surprised if the firm didn't just pay it to you to settle the claim as I can't imagine it can be that much money. Even if they had included it in the main body of the order, if your DH had stopped paying you would still have had to go to court to enforce it and incurred legal costs and time wastedand after 12 months either one of you could opt for the CSA instead. So you probably have not been in a much worse position by not being able to enforce the order but as a matter of goodwill the solicitors may wish to