Talk

Advanced search

Will I miss the 7 seater

(17 Posts)
Misselthwaite Wed 31-Aug-16 15:00:23

I have three children, 9, 6 and 4. Car is on its way out its a Citroen grand c4 Picasso. Options are to buy a large estate which would be cheaper or to stick with 7 seats.

We haven't used the seats that much but they have at times been very handy. My parents are getting on and my mum currently can't drive due to ill health. 7 seats means we can go in one car. I'm a teacher so have the kids all through the holidays and thinking in the future 7 seats means all three kids can have a mate for days out.

But its much more money and I'm naturally quite tight.

Any words of wisdom from those a bit further along with older kids. Will the 7 seater be worth it?

ImYourMama Wed 31-Aug-16 15:07:52

I would say 7 seater is 100% worth it for the invaluable bonus of flexibility

Tsotofamily Wed 31-Aug-16 15:19:15

I would second that. I don't know what I'd do without my 7 seater

Summerholsdoingmyheadin Wed 31-Aug-16 15:21:07

I had a 7 seater, changed to a car and after a year I went back to a 7 seater. The car was just too tiny.

bonzo77 Wed 31-Aug-16 15:33:02

Maybe look at a small 7 seater where the extra two seats are just pop up ones. Like an S max (rather than Galaxy) or Nissan qashqi +2. When I was little my parents had a normal estate car with pop up rear facing seats in the boot. Might have been an Audi.

RueDeWakening Wed 31-Aug-16 15:35:16

We've just gone to a 7-seater (SEAT Alhambra) after years with a Citroen Xsara Picasso. Kids are 9, 6 and 3 and I can't see us going back to 5 seats for quite some time. The flexibility of having friends along after school/on trips, or being able to go on holiday with the back 2 seats down and without a roofbox on the car is fabulous.

idontlikealdi Wed 31-Aug-16 15:35:53

We have a zafira and it has tons more space in it than SILs audi estate. We don't often use the rear pop up seats but the space is invaluable.