Talk

Advanced search

3rd child and maternity leave worries

(15 Posts)
Chickenandpenguin Tue 16-Dec-14 13:00:34

Hi all
Long time lurker and first time poster. I know three children isn't really a large family but there's no medium sized family topic area so please bear with me smile
We currently have two children, 2.11 and 1yr6 months. I'd love to have three and ideally get pregnant soon. However, one of my many concerns would be how my employer would feel about a third maternity leave so close to my last two. I'm a teacher and have worked for same employer for 7 years. I know they couldn't Fire me for it, but I'm worried they'd find some way of getting rid of me! Or that I wouldnt be entitled to any maternity pay . Or am I just being ridiculous?! Anyone any experience of multiple mat leaves at same job?

imip Wed 17-Dec-14 18:15:19

Chicken, try your post under The Staffroom also, may be teachers in the same position...

Chickenandpenguin Wed 17-Dec-14 19:14:24

Thanks Imip will do smile

SophieBarringtonWard Wed 17-Dec-14 20:23:45

I don't see why you wouldn't be entitled to your maternity pay. The policies are the same regardless of what number pregnancy you are on!

Greengrow Wed 17-Dec-14 20:51:56

You could do what I did with all 5 - work until in labour and then use two weeks of annual leave and go back full time. There is no law which says you have to take long and regular maternity leaves. It worked out really well for us.

SophieBarringtonWard Wed 17-Dec-14 21:27:26

btw your post reminded me, a friend who worked in India (for an Indian charity) did have a contract that specified less maternity pay for each pregnancy, and none at all for a 4th or subsequent pregnancy! Part of trying to reduce the birthrate I suppose.

Viviennemary Wed 17-Dec-14 21:31:23