Would you allow child to learn language you don't understand? & Can I teach child language I am still learning?

(18 Posts)
RattieOfCatan Tue 01-Mar-16 12:09:29

Sorry, I couldn't get the title shorter really!

I am currently learning Spanish and hoping to have a child in the next year. I'm ramping up my Spanish lessons and learning and am hoping to reach B2 by the end of the year. Would that be enough to raise a child with the OPOL approach from the start or is that a silly idea? I do intend to get better obviously but I think B2 is a difficult enough goal for this year. We would be visiting Spain at least twice a year in future and I expect that when they are older they'll go with family too so they will be exposed to native Spanish there and I would look into other ways to continue exposure at home.

The other thing is that we will be living with my parents for the first year realistically, and will live close by after that. My Dad speaks another language (native speaker, failed to teach my sisters or I as children though) and I would like him to speak to my child/ren in that language, but I've been told that I'm mad for wanting my child to know a language that I don't know. I can only think it'll be a positive thing? I do intend to learn this language, I'll probably start learning whilst living with parents, but I wouldn't want to waste the opportunity to expose my child to the language in their first few years.

vvviola Tue 01-Mar-16 12:14:39

I think it would be very hard to teach a child a language when you are still learning it - at least from the OPOL perspective.