Mixing languages?

(8 Posts)
MeadowHay Fri 08-Jan-16 19:38:15

Ok, me and partner are just ttc at the moment, so I'm just generally thinking about what we may do in future. My partner's native tongue is English, and he speaks a little French too - enough to get by and communicate but that's it. My situation is a bit more complicated; I was brought up with two languages, Farsi and English, sort of a loose OPOL technique, my dad speaking Farsi and my mum English. However by the time I started school my English vastly overtook my Farsi and my Farsi is sort of akin to my partner's French - enough to communicate and get by but that's it, and I can read very basic things like menus and young children's books but nothing harder. I also speak French, at around B1 level, I am studying it at uni alongside my major.

I know that is is probably almost impossible to raise any children of ours bilingual considering I'm not even bilingual after my parents' attempting it! But all the same, languages are really important to me, they are such a useful skill and I really want to do the best that we can to encourage exposure to MFL and proficiency where possible even if it's just laying ground work for them to then pick up French again in secondary school. However I do not speak French fluently so I think OPOL is just not going to be possible for us. Would it be confusing for a baby if I spoke French to them sometimes, and English to them other times? What about if I was speaking French, and then didn't know a word and spoke that in English in a sentence? I want to teach them French but obviously don't want to make things worse by confusing them.