Talk

Advanced search

I'm new here + first appointment IVF

(2 Posts)
Claudie86 Fri 01-Mar-19 15:12:26

Hi everyone!

It's my first time posting on here 😊 I used to live in London but have since moved abroad about 2 years ago.

I'm 33 years old and my hb and w have been ttc for almost 3 years now. In 2018 we've tried 3 times to do IUI, but apparently the medicine works very well on me, leaving me with way too many follicles and thus unable to do a safe IUI treatment.

After waiting almost 3 months, this week we finally had an appointment at the hospital, where we were advised to start IVF treatment. I'm currently waiting to have my period (due in a week or 2), so they can do some more ultrasounds and blood work. Then early April my hb and I have an appointment at the hospital with a biologist or embryologist, and we're expecting to start in April or May with the first round of IVF!

The past couple of years have actually been quite difficult. At times I've felt sad, alone and even a bit ashamed from having to go through these issues. I perfectly know that I'm not alone in this and that many people have issues, but knowing is one things and actually accepting and believing it's ok is another thing. All close friends around me have now children or are either expecting, and every time someone tells me the good news my stomach turns. I'm genuinely happy for everyone who tells me their good news, but I can't deny that it does something to a person who also wants to be able to say they are pregnant.