Talk

Advanced search

Continue trying naturally?

(17 Posts)
panda2018 Fri 09-Feb-18 11:49:36

Hi, I’m just looking for a bit of advice pls (this is my first time on any forum).

My DH and I have been TTC for three years. I’m 39 and he is 29. Have done all blood, ultrasound and sperm tests which came back normal.

In aug 2015 my amh was 1.2 and afc was 2 (this was done privately). In nov 2016 my afc was 1 and I was told that DE was really the only option (told by nhs).

In Jan 2018 my amh was 2.2 and afc was 4 but nhs have said my chances of successful ivf using my own eggs is 5%, using donor eggs my chances are 65%.

My DH and I are going to go down the DE route BUT we actually got pregnant last month. Miscarried at 5 weeks so v early on but we still got pregnant. I am wondering if this is anything to do with acupuncture, moxibustion and fertility massage I’ve been having since November.

My question is should we keep trying naturally or push on with DE. We only have nhs funding until the end of the year.

Has anyone else been in same situation? Basically I was told that my only option was ED but then I got pregnant so now I'm a bit confused!

bluebird3 Fri 09-Feb-18 14:29:44

Hi there. So sorry about your mc. Honestly, I would go for the de if your funding is going to run out. Maybe try naturally the next couple cycles as you're meant to be more fertile after a mc, but I wouldn't wait too long. I have a good friend who started trying at 38, and had a mc every year or so and so she kept trying naturally and is now 45 with no baby. I've had 3 failed ICSI myself so will be looking into de as well. Good luck.

panda2018 Fri 09-Feb-18 16:58:03

Thanks bluebird3. A GP friend of mine has said exactly the same thing as you. Fingers crossed one way or the other we will be successful. Good luck with your own journey, I wonder if you are thinking of going abroad for treatment?

BertieBotts Fri 09-Feb-18 17:00:54