Talk

Advanced search

Metformin

(10 Posts)
Autumn0909 Sun 08-Oct-17 18:01:22

Hi all
It's my first time posting on this board, after 18 months of TTC without success. After all the tests, DH's tests came back fine but I've found out I have PCOS with irregular cycles. My in April, my doctor mentioned about giving it another year (no) then seeing about taking metformin. I have an appointment in two weeks during which I'd like to agree the next step. Does anybody have any experience with taking metformin? Any advice or stories will be appreciated.

GeekyWombat Sun 08-Oct-17 18:15:05

I took Metformin for several years before TTC (somewhat unusually my GP was really proactive about encouraging it when I was diagnosed with PCOS, even though at that point I hadn't even met DH - just told the doctor I would like children in the future).

It did terrible things to my digestion, lots of diarrhoea (sorry but it's true) and general tummy troubles, particularly in the early days or if I ran out and hadn't sorted a repeat prescription to run uninterrupted.

Shortly after I was diagnosed they did scans which showed a large number of cysts and my doctor basically told me it was unlikely I'd be able to conceive without help. This was the point he prescribed Metformin. I ended up pregnant twice in very quick succession (on purpose!) and I believe the Metformin made a big difference for me.

It's just my experience and I count myself incredibly lucky, I appreciate I may be in the minority. But it worked for me.

I also used The PCOS Handbook and some of their advice on eating etc to try and help with some of the symptoms. Being diagnosed was a tough and upsetting time and I wasn't even at a point of TTC, be gentle with yourself and good luck making your decision.

MermaidTail7 Mon 09-Oct-17 20:22:17

I've been on metformin for about six weeks now after a diagnosis of PCOS with very irregular periods and increased AMH and Follicle counts but no 'cysts'.