Talk

Advanced search

Negativity over IVF

(17 Posts)
ZiggyForever Thu 06-Apr-17 18:23:17

Hi everyone - I have premature ovarian failure and we're currently looking at IVF options/donor eggs etc.

I can't help feeling that no matter what we do, it won't work. My gut instinct is that we'll spend all our savings and come out with nothing the other side. And then I'm worried that this will be a self-fulfilling prophecy - my negativity will stop me becoming pregnant. Mind over matter etc.

Has anyone else felt like this and gone on to have a successful pregnancy?

broodynmoody Thu 06-Apr-17 22:50:37

Hiya,I have no experience as of yet but I do feel the same, no matter what I do it won't work. IVF is shot in the dark, it probably won't work but u never know, you maybe one of the lucky ones.

user1490948702 Thu 06-Apr-17 23:41:50

I haven't been through the same but I had iuis to have my son years ago (my problem was endometriosis) and after the first failed, I was convinced the second one would and that I had to go through the three iuis which the NHS allotted me to get to ivf with its better chances of success. I was completely negative about it all, without meaning to I even forgot to take my folic acid as I was so convinced it was a waste of time and scheduled a big work event on the day I needed to rest. Needles to say it worked (3 positive thinking cycles more recently haven't!) so I know for a fact that my negative attitude had no impact.

I'm now considering ivf and wondering about the likely success versus spending savings too. I don't know what's the right thing to do but I do feel that negative or positive thinking isn't significant (apologies to Zita West!) so don't let it make you feel guilty in any way. Good luck whatever you doflowers

zzzzz Thu 06-Apr-17 23:46:29

After years of pointless joyless no-effect-whatsoever fertility treatment we did our first cycle of IVF. At transfer I knew I couldn't do it again if it didn't work. It did.