loader

Talk

Advanced search

Midwife struck off for giving aromatherapy to women

(21 Posts)
AnarchyAunt Fri 07-Aug-09 19:25:33

Here

3littlefrogs Fri 07-Aug-09 19:31:22

She was extremely irresponsible to offer this treatment on NHS premises, and even more so to leave the mixture with the woman without giving her clear instructions - the fact that the woman drank the stuff is extremely worrying.

I am a qualified nurse, midwife and complementary therapist, and I wouldn't do this. She should have known she was risking her job and her registration.

3littlefrogs Fri 07-Aug-09 19:32:09

Mind you - there is every chance that what is written in the press is wildly innaccurate...........

TotalChaos Fri 07-Aug-09 19:38:02

I didn't realise that aromatherapy as pain relief in labour was so controversial, as my local hospital (Liverpool Women's Hospital) apparently offers it as a pain relief option.

Having said that, given she knew it was forbidden, and that she was so lax in carrying out the treatment (would have expected the oil to be applied), can see things careerwise went rather pearshaped...

edam Sat 08-Aug-09 09:06:42

I can see the problem, given this midwife had already been warned. But wtf was the woman thinking? Why did she drink the oils?

PeachyLaPeche Sat 08-Aug-09 09:20:35

I had armatherapy with ds2's birth, and despite being a 40+ hour posterior presentation delivery it was by far my happiest delivery

However, the MW's at the unit (Weston) were trained, it was supervised and was part of the hospital policy.

This is really about breaching supervisory advice and being a bit of a loose canon, no?

edam Sat 08-Aug-09 09:22:26

Yes, Peachy, but also about a very daft patient!

PeachyLaPeche Sat 08-Aug-09 09:28:24

Oh God yes indeed- what was that about!!!! Bet it was tasty too hmm

(in fairness though in you're going to completely misunderstand something and do something really silly, when you are labour is possibly one of the more understandable times?)