Talk

Advanced search

How hard would it be for a complete novice to make Roman Blinds????

(8 Posts)
ConnorTraceptive Thu 17-Sep-09 10:40:18

I really want to put some roman blinds up in my conservatory but there is no way I can afford to pay to have them made, so was thinking of making my own. Never tried anything like this before how hard would it be??

Carrotfly Thu 17-Sep-09 11:33:55

Roman blinds are really easy to make. Its just like a pillocase (sort of ...)

TBH I would think it might be very hard to put in a conservatory, at least thats why I've never attempted making them for mine, despite having successfully made around 30 blinds over the years.

The thing is, you'll have to make sure the pattern matches up exactly all around the room as it will bug you if it doesnt. Checks and stripes are notoriously awkward as a cm out just looks odd.

Secondly, dont forget the corners where 2 blinds join at 90 degrees to each other. Tour fitting measurements will need to be so accurate otherwise you might not be able to open them !

Why dont you try making a single blind for a small room first to see if you are naturally gifted ?

ConnorTraceptive Thu 17-Sep-09 13:33:30

Thanks for your reply I think you are right about making a smaller one first and see how I get on.

I see what you mean about corner measurements but fortunately our conservatory isn't "square" it's like a half octagon or pentagon (whatever that shape is called!!!)

Good point too about patterns may stick with a plain colour. I really do need to do something in there to make it more inviting!!

mathanxiety Thu 17-Sep-09 16:39:16