Talk

Advanced search

Ecoballs and smelly washing

(8 Posts)
ajm200 Fri 07-Aug-09 15:00:38

Hi Ladies. I need your advice pls

I've been using ecoballs for 6 months after discovering that DS's sore dry skin was caused by washing powder and some soaps.

The washing smells fine when it comes out of the machine even the nappies but recently hubby has complained that his clothes smell stale in hot weather. Also, I've noticed that if I do a load late at night and fold it into a basket to hang out on the line first thing the next morning, it goes sour by morning. Not a problem I had with detergents and softener.

This is what I've tried so far to fix the problem but I've had no luck

Cleaned the machine with 95 degree washes using white vinegar, washing soda and hotpoint recommended cleaner..

Adding vinegar to the rinse water

Adding lavender and teatree to the rinse (caused random greasy marks)

Adding washing soda to the wash (helped with the smell but made my sons skin dry)

Leaving the wet washing in the machine overnight (caused creased smelly washing)

Help pls. I don't want to go back to using washing powder for my sons sake and because now I can't stand the smell and feel of clothes washed in detergent/softner

ajm200 Sat 08-Aug-09 13:00:59

anyone?

CleanGreenNappy Sat 08-Aug-09 13:27:08

Hi there. I sell the ecoballs from my real nappy shop and the problems you have can arise. The reason you don't get those problems with detergents is that they mask the smells with their perfumes. Obviously the ecoballs can't do that as they don't have any chemicals etc in them so it's best not to leave washing in the drum for long. All the things you tried should work - and I have a long list of tips on my blog, but it pretty much just includes what you've already mentioned. http://blog.cleangreennappy.co.uk/2008/08/29/getting-the-most-out-of-your-ecoballs/