Talk

Advanced search

Any Roomba owners that can answer a few questions please?

(6 Posts)
user1066 Mon 12-Sep-16 20:09:36

I have a hankering for a Roomba. Just the basic model, but I have a few questions, please, before I decide to shell out. I have a small, modern two bed semi, but have dog that is likely to attack it if she is near it so I can't leave it running when she's around and certainly not when I leave her at home alone!
1) How long would I need to leave it running to clean a small lounge and hallway?
2) Does it go from room to room if I leave the doors open? Is it happy going over those metal carpet room divider strips in doorways?
3) How loud is it? Will I be able to set it running downstairs at bedtime and still get to sleep?
4) Can I change where I leave the docking station, so I can then leave it running upstairs when I head out to work in the morning and the dog is kept downstairs?

Many thanks

TalbotAMan Mon 12-Sep-16 20:34:38

We have two 700 series (both bought cheap from ebay).

1 They tend to run either for as long as they think are necessary or until the battery runs too low, whichever comes first. They generally run for about 40 minutes in our house if left to their own devices.

2 Yes and, as long as they are reasonably flat, yes. Though they have some intelligence, they are pretty dumb and basically keep going in straightish lines until something inside tells them to turn or they hit something. So if a door is open, they go through it. They can manage quite small bumps but ours will happily get stuck on the base of an IKEA Poang chair - they climb up so their wheels are off the floor! (Solution: tilt the Poang so it's resting on its front.)

3 How light a sleeper are you? If you are in the same room then you would probably have to raise your voice and you wouldn't want one on if you were watching TV but if there's a closed door between you and a Roomba it's generally ok.