Please help me stay on track this afternoon!

(28 Posts)
Brokenbiscuit Tue 29-Mar-16 12:45:50

My house is a tip and I feel completely overwhelmed by it. Don't know if I'm depressed or just lazy, but I really struggle to make headway with sorting things out, despite the best of intentions - I start and then it just seems like too big a mountain to climb.

I have today off work and really want to get lots done. The mess is really getting me down and I don't want to live like this. Right now I feel positive, but I know I'll start to slide later on, so I need someone to stand over me and crack the whip.

Part of the problem is not knowing where to start, and not knowing what to do with stuff that doesn't have a home - I pick things up, move them and then shuffle the mess to another part of the house. I'm not very good at throwing stuff away. sad

I've made a list to try and break the task down into smaller jobs, and I am going to try my best. Does anyone want to join me, or at least help me to stay on track?

SouthDownsSunshine Tue 29-Mar-16 12:47:11

That's a lot to take on in a day. Break it into bits. Can you identify a few surfaces to clear and start there?

NoCapes Tue 29-Mar-16 12:47:14

I'm here! I'll keep telling you off every time you get distracted grin

What is on your list?

mogloveseggs Tue 29-Mar-16 12:52:27

I'll help you if you help me grin
Did upstairs and now have sat down with is lethal. Downstairs needs doing right through and I've got to entertain a 4 year old too. Got 3 hours till I pick dd up.
If it helps this morning I made the beds, put clothes in the wash/wardrobe, hoovered and dusted, opened the curtains (I think dd is a vampire grin), cleaned the bathroom and put a wash on. I always start upstairs and work down as I could never leave downstairs a tip as people might see it so I have to carry on.

Brokenbiscuit Tue 29-Mar-16 13:00:14