Talk

Advanced search

What knives do I need?

(7 Posts)
TeddyBear5 Sat 09-May-15 10:49:28

We were given a knife block set when we set up home 12 years ago. Slowly they have dwindled (putting them in dishwasher has not been good for the handles) and I have now only three. A bread knife, a meat carving knife and a small knife for vegetables.

What are the other ones called? I've just looked online and don't know what I need. For information, we don't eat fish, only meat and I need one to dice chicken etc. I need one to open packets(!), cheese (I'm guessing that's a cheese knife). I don't know what else, but I know 3 isn't enough.

Any knife information to a woman who knows nowt about knives is gratefully received!

mrsmeerkat Sat 09-May-15 10:55:25

I'm no expert but I would invest in a good kitchen scissors for opening packets etc and a good little small Sharp knife

Also we have brazillian steak knives that are the business

I recently bought the habitat set from argos for our new house and they look great.

Madamecastafiore Sat 09-May-15 10:58:39

Go to TK Maxx to buy them. Great value.

I got veg one, bread one, carving one, big choppy wide one and long choppy one for about £40.

Hang them on magnetic strip, safer, cleaner and eater.

TheSpottedZebra Sat 09-May-15 11:00:35

It depends on what you cook, and personal preference I guess. I use a chef's knife for about 90% of tasks. It's probably about 15cm long on the blade. I bought one to suit me - I picked loads up first to make sure it was comfy - and i keep it sharp. And hand wash it. My partner also has 'his knife' that he uses for most things. Those, a bread knife, and a couple of small knives do us for most things. I do like to have a small serrated knife too. And a pair of kitchen scissors.

But most of us are veggie so filleting and carving are not really relevant. I think we have a cleaver/Chinese knife bought for a fleeting enthusiasm for Chinese old, but it's never used.