Ikea integrated coffee machine - SMAKRIK any good?

(5 Posts)
Briony32 Mon 20-Oct-14 10:45:46

I'm just about to have an Ikea kitchen fitted and I'm thinking of getting their integrated coffee machine for £300. I'm hoping it will add a touch of luxury to the kitchen and will attract buyers when I come to sell in a couple of years time. Has anyone got any words of advice/caution before I press go? Does it really make good coffee and will it be an eyesore after a while especially if it's hard to clean?
www.ikea.com/gb/en/catalog/categories/departments/kitchen/20827/

Lamb10 Tue 03-Feb-15 23:02:23

Did you end purchasing this? I'm pondering the idea to

Itwontletmenamechange Wed 04-Feb-15 05:56:54

It's ok. Makes good froth. However it takes up a lot of space and we just use our nespresso most of the time as it's easier

Eamon Sun 22-Feb-15 20:36:11

I've been using my Smakrik for about 6 months. I love it, and I'm making really nice lattes, but it's not for everyone...

The cons:
-It's the full width and depth of a kitchen wall cabinet, so it takes up a chunk of your storage space.
-it doesn't grind your beans, it's just a basic espresso maker with a milk frother.
-it doesn't do anything automatically, so you have to read the instructions and actually learn the best way to use it. It takes practice.
-it has a single boiler, which means the water is either at coffee making temperature or milk frothing temperature so you have to wait for the temp to change during the coffee making process. (But I have found a way round that)
-if it's installed in a wall cabinet above a worktop it might not be at a comfortable height to use, especially for milk frothing where it helps if you can look down into the milk jug as you steam. I'm 6' 1" and I find I'm on my tip toes in order to look down into the milk jug.