Advanced search

what's your daily routine?

(48 Posts)
techn9nefan Tue 01-Jan-13 20:45:27

mine is....
6am wake up. go make coffee and read news online
6.30am have shower and get dressed.
7.15am wake children and DP.
7.25am make breakfast for children and DP.
8ish am get children ready for school.
8.10 DP leaves for work.
8.30 am school run.
9.30 arrive at shops to do daily shopping
11am return home. have coffee and maybe a sandwich.
11.30 make beds and clean house.
1pm go to stables muck out and ride both horses.
3pm leave to go do school run.
4pm arrive home with children. have yet another coffee.
4.15 start to make evening meal.
4.30ish DP arrives home
5pm ish. have evening meal.
6pm bath children and get them ready for bed. (sometimes DP does and I have coffee and browse web)
7pm youngest goes to bed (story read etc)
7.30pm older two go bed (story read etc)
7.45 wash pots and clean round again.
8.30 shower for me.
then relax till bed time about 10pm

is everyone else like this or just me. I feel like I never stop.

MushroomSoup Tue 01-Jan-13 20:57:09

Yes I do that too! Also work full time. But no horses!
Tbh you sound LUCKY. A SAHM with time to ride horses?!

AppleOgies Tue 01-Jan-13 21:16:39

Why are you doing a 'daily shop'?

techn9nefan Tue 01-Jan-13 21:24:24

I do daily shops rather than a big weekly one

VerySmallSqueak Tue 01-Jan-13 21:30:34

2 showers a day plus a daily shop,is definitely not something I would prioritise in my daily routine.
Really the horse time is relaxation time,is it not?
But,yes ,you do sound like you have a full day.

LauraPashley Tue 01-Jan-13 21:34:15

Sorry OP but I don't think this will end well! You have a whole lot of free time I there for your hobby and also the luxury of a daily shopping trip! Also a nice couple of chill out hours in the evening! Lucky you, I don't begrudge you, am just jealous, but I would say prepare to take an Mn pasting!

SilverSky Tue 01-Jan-13 21:36:11

My aim is to either have my horse back off loan or have a new one when the smalls are at school. Found it a bloody nightmare on DIY with young babies and a husband working random hours with no other family nearby to help. I think you're lucky! Exhausted? Definitely. But a lucky exhausted! grin

NotGoodNotBad Tue 01-Jan-13 21:38:40

Hmm, sorry but I agree with the others... 1hr 30 a day for daily shopping? That could go! And why do you need to get up at 6 - 1hr 15 before everyone else? Kids could maybe get up and out in less than 1hr 15 too. Then 2hrs horse time in the afternoon, and 8.30 onwards is your time too.

Your choice if that's how you like to do things, but it doesn't sound like you're really hard-pressed.

LauraPashley Tue 01-Jan-13 21:40:52

Short summary of mine btw, have picked a working day just to be awkward!
Somewhere between 5-6am-woken by dd
Spend till 6:45ish trying to doze/get her back over/stop dd1 from also wakening
Fail at all of that, then 6:45-8:15 - breakfast, shower, dds ready, dropped off if necessary, get to work.
Home 5:30/6ish via pick up if necessary.
6-8 tea, homework, baths, beds, bags ready for next day etc.
8-9ish tidy up house a bit, laundry etc
9-11:30ish work
Collapse in heap, repeat! Thankfully only 3 days a week at the mo, having dropped temporarily from 5.

VerySmallSqueak Tue 01-Jan-13 21:43:00

I have to say that to get such time morning and evening to yourself and still have time for a proper nights sleep is a bit of a luxury.
But good for you if you've got that luxury.

Are you wanting a less active day?
Because you could definitely build pauses in if you want,with that routine.

techn9nefan Tue 01-Jan-13 22:16:46

I like my hour in the morning to get up and ready, means I start the day feeling fresh. I have 3 children so an hour or so is needed to get them ready. daily shopping means I never use a bus or a taxi and we dont have a car also means less wasted food. my horses are as much my babies as my children so need to be looked after too. im really looking too see if my time is well spent as were trying for another baby but could get twins again if thats so we would go from a family of 5 to a family of 7

ZenNudist Tue 01-Jan-13 22:21:50

That's a nice leisurely routine. This is mine 4 days a week:
0615 get up and dress and eat breakfast
0645 dress ds
0715 leave house
0730 nursery drop off (ds eat here)
0810 arrive work
1300 lunch - grab sandwich to eat at desk or take an hour and meet friends
1700 leave work to get ds
1800 nursery pick up
1830 ds tea
1900 ds bath
1930 stories and cuddles before ds bed
2000 take a shower
2030 prep tea
2100 eat tea
2130 tv or extra work
2230 pack bags for next day, tidy kitchen
2300 get ready for bed
2330 lights out
Intersperse with random MNing
I don't do all nursery runs dh does 2 a week in which case I get into work earlier and leave later. I try to be back to tuck ds in unless I'm travelling. I clean and do shopping and laundry over the weekend and in my non work day.

VerySmallSqueak Tue 01-Jan-13 22:29:38

I can see your reasoning for a daily shop - is it at all possible that could be stretched out to three days a week instead of five? I use a trolley bag to go up to the village and get food - practical.Again,necessity could dictate only one shower a day.
Obviously the morning and evening time could be utilised if necessary and some of the jobs from the 11.30 slot done then to give you a breather in the day time if you need a pause then.
Of course the horses take as much time as they take and that's non negotiable,unless you can befriend someone at the stables and muck out for each other alternate days or something to cut down on the time you're at the stables some days.

If your day has to get longer and your down time less,you would adjust to it,and it would become the norm.

VerySmallSqueak Tue 01-Jan-13 22:30:46

Also is there any time in DP's day when he could pick up some shopping?

techn9nefan Tue 01-Jan-13 22:58:26

verysmallsqueak alternate days shopping is a good idea that would free up some time. I suppose I could try nit having a mornibg shiwer and have a wash instead. DP is use less at shopping and would spend money where its not needed. So I prefer to go. Will look in to a shopping trolley though.

AppleOgies Wed 02-Jan-13 07:55:18

I'd definitely lose the shopping every day.

I don't want to offend but your day seems nice, plenty of relaxation and time for yourself.

My day:

6am wake up, get DS breakfasted, get DS and myself showered and ready.
7am leave house. DH and DS head off for nursery.
7:30 on train to work
8:20 arrive at work
12:30 lunch (if I'm lucky)
18:00 leave work
18:50 arrive home, 20 mins with DS (DH picked him up at 17:30) playing before bed
19:10 get DS ready for bed, storytime etc...
19:40 get changed and washed
20:00 prepare dinner
20:45 eat dinner
21:15 me time! And get ready for tomorrow, quick tidy and clean
22:30 bed!

WantAnOrange Wed 02-Jan-13 08:25:18

Dawn til dusk - feed newborn DD

Somewhere in there I have to fit in coursework (for degree), housework, Feeding rest of family, school runs, homework, paperwork, network meetings, DS's gym and swimming lessons and reading, Bambi club and young parents group (those two help me survive the rest), and I even see a friend occasionally, it's great being a parent....

ladyintheradiator Wed 02-Jan-13 08:28:30

You never stop? It sounds like you barely even start!

BananaPie Wed 02-Jan-13 08:54:19

Sounds pretty relaxed to me. Especially with a dp who leaves at 8:10 and is home by 4:30 - is that even a whole working day? What does he do that allows you to be a sahm who can afford horses?

babooshkadoll Wed 02-Jan-13 09:12:18

Much the same (no horses) but throw in a full time job - very full on stress full job.
Literally feel I never stop,

WipsGlitter Wed 02-Jan-13 09:56:33

I agree this sounds very leisurely! What is your question? How can you find more time for yourself? The daily shop seems a bit old fashioned - can you not get an online delivery? Do horses need to be exercised every day?

Mine is hectic although my evenings are pretty relaxed DS1 in bed at 7.15 and DS2 at 8 so a couple of hours to myself. I get in about 5.30 and tea and clear up is done by 7.

techn9nefan Wed 02-Jan-13 10:05:37

bananapie DP is a theatre manager in a private hospital. I inherrited a good amount off my grandparents 6 years ago (including my 6 bed house) thats how we afford most things.

wipsglitter I just want to see if im using my time well. Horses need to be mucked out daily and rode at least every other day but let out in the field everyday.

AppleOgies Wed 02-Jan-13 10:28:43

I think the only way you can 'cut down' is to stop the daily shop.

Everything else is either leisure or timed events like the school run.

Sounds like a nice life you have, I agree with others. Luxury of a daily shop, paper reading and horse riding.

My day

6:45 wake up, shower, change toddler
7:30 breakfast with toddler (but sometimes this runs late and I'm in a huge hurry like today)
8:00 nursery run, then commute to work in my bicycle. this is my quite me time
8:30 office
5:15-5:30 leave works (husband picks up DD from nursery, he leaves for work at 7am)
5:45 plays with DD
6:15 baths DD, bedtime story etc
7:00 cooks dinner
7:30 eat and then dishes
usually 8:30 relax time, but also time for doing laundry and one night a week is meal planning and online grocery ordering
10:00 bed

Gooseysgirl Wed 02-Jan-13 10:35:45

OP I work full time and could not survive without online grocery shopping, saves a huuuuge amount if time so I would definitely make that your starting point for saving time. And good luck TTC if you decide to go again, we're about to try for DC2 smile

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now