Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Books like Rainbow Magic (Daisy Meadows) for boys? Maybe easier ;)

(19 Posts)
misscph1973 Fri 24-May-13 10:06:14

My DS is 6 and in year 1. I have not seen a lot of progress in his reading lately so I would like to find a series of easy readers that appeals to him. With my DD her reading really took off when she discovered Rainbow Magic. DS never takes home any books from the Free to Read box and at the library he only chooses books with lots of pictures and he ignores the text ;) We read to him very night and he definitely loves books, he just needs to get his reading to the next level, but he is so lazy!

Any recommendations? He loves Horrid Henry, Tin Tin and generally monsters and aliens.

AuntieStella Fri 24-May-13 10:07:28

Beast Quest.

There's about 60 of the damned things now.

misscph1973 Fri 24-May-13 10:18:35

Thanks, Auntie, they look great, but perhaps a bit advanced for my DS at the moment, will put them on the list for future, though.

misscph1973 Fri 24-May-13 10:22:29

I think I need to specify: My DS does not read on his own yet, he reads for me and he can't manage anything with more than a few lines per page yet. The equivalent of Rainbow Magic would be too difficult for him.

Bluebell99 Fri 24-May-13 10:26:53

Red nose readers are quite quirky and fun. There was also a series of easy readers involving a witch, can't remember exactly. Captain underpants was a favourite with my ds , and then how to train your dragon series which are harder.

dinkystinky Fri 24-May-13 10:31:47

Dinosaur Cove - DS1 is 7 and loves dinosaurs so these have been good for him. Also cards to collect.

misscph1973 Fri 24-May-13 10:35:07

Fabulous recommendations, am making a list! Many thanks, keep them coming!

EdwiniasRevenge Fri 24-May-13 10:39:41

Horrid henry easy readers?

I got a pack of 12 or so from the book people

misscph1973 Fri 24-May-13 10:45:26

Horrid Henry would work great, thanks!

EdwiniasRevenge Fri 24-May-13 12:00:49

These are the ones:

Still got glossy pictures. About 1 short paragraph per page

www.thebookpeople.co.uk/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/qs_product_tbp?storeId=10001&catalogId=10051&langId=100&productId=293180

WorkingtoohardMama Fri 24-May-13 12:04:47

Would he prefer non fiction books, my ds is much more interested in these and I've found it's improved his reading, can't think of any to recommend (helpful!), but if there's something he's interested in - football, volcanoes and lego for my ds, really helped to develop his reading.

exexpat Fri 24-May-13 12:19:45

How about the Jack Stalwart series? They weren't around when DS was that age, but slightly tomboyish DD loved them when she was six or seven. We gave a set of them to her old infants school as a leaving present, and apparently they have been a huge hit with the year 1s and 2s.

Or DS devoured the Magic Tree House series around that age - I don't know how many they are up to now, but we must have 30+ of them. They are very easy reading, quite repetitive in a similar way to Rainbow Fairy books, which makes them horrible for parents to read, but helps beginner readers get confidence because of the familiarity. And the plots aren't bad, particularly if your DS is at all interested in history.

misscph1973 Fri 24-May-13 12:53:20

Working, might be a good idea, he often takes out non-fiction, but again, looks at the pictures.

exexpat, Jack Stalwart looks really good, thanks! DD loves Magic Tree House, which means DS thinks they are too girlie ;)

Zipitydooda Fri 24-May-13 13:02:38

What about the Happy Families series by Ahlberg e.g. Mr Tick the Teacher. They are still picture books but fun for children and adults to read and often have speech bubbles so if you're reading to him, you can get him to read the speech bubbles. My DS started reading these on his own before progressing to chapter type books. You can often get the whole set cheaply from the bookpeople or similar.

Zipitydooda Fri 24-May-13 13:04:23

The Faraway Tree was probably the first chapter book my DS read alone. He was absolutely enthralled by it. It's part of a series too.

RussiansOnTheSpree Fri 24-May-13 13:09:02

Astrosaurs. Or, Cows in Action. Absolutely brilliant.

misscph1973 Fri 24-May-13 13:20:40

Oh, Zipitydooda, will definitely try Happy families, Ahlberg also wrote Burglar Bill, a favourite in our house! Thanks. I think DS would find the Faraway Tree too girlie, as DD read them.

Russians, Astrosaurs and Cows in Action looks great!

Poor DS has no idea ;) I am beginnning to be thankful it's raining ;)

Floggingmolly Fri 24-May-13 13:21:05

Mr. Gum?

SoMuchToBits Fri 24-May-13 13:25:23

Horrid Henry, Astrosaurs, Beast Quest, Jack Stalwart. Captain Underpants and MrGum are all favourites with the year 1s and 2s in the school library where I help out. Also the "Sausage" books about a sausage dog, by Michaela Morgan are popular.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now