Advanced search

Home education government review

(73 Posts)
maverick Mon 08-Jun-09 22:39:04

I hope you've read this:
www.guardian.co.uk/education/2009/jun/05/home-schooling-education-crack-down

Dysgu Mon 08-Jun-09 22:46:45

bumping just so people see it.

Seems a shame that the majority have to suffer but if it does mean that one child's life is saved/improved then I guess everyone should do it.

Would you object to registering - surely those with nothing to hide would be fine with that. As long as they are not trying to restrict what home educating can be.

I am a teacher but think that HE can work extremely well for parents and children who are committed to it and suited to it.

anastaisia Tue 09-Jun-09 09:22:45

sigh

No offense Dysgu, but thats the same old argument that's been offered and refuted here and in other places.

If a child is at risk there are ALREADY laws and policies in place to deal with this. The child's educational provision is a separate legal and practical concern.

To force registration of home educators is the same thing as saying that many pre-school children are cared for by childminders or nurseries, and therefore all stay at home parents must register with their local authority if they do not choose to use a childminder or nursery to care for their child.

So yes, I would and will object to complusory registration.

musicposy Tue 09-Jun-09 13:03:39

The bit that said school is a good safety net for children would have made me laugh if it wasn't so awful.

Firstly, I worked in schools as a teacher for many years and more than one child in that time came to light as having been seriously abused at home. School didn't prevent it at all, because we didn't know. These things can be very easily hidden by families who wish to do so, and children are often too scared to speak out.