Talk

Advanced search

Would it help to teach parents too?

(4 Posts)
robertspa1968 Sun 26-Feb-17 22:51:24

I'm a full time teacher but I do a lot of tutoring, especially for home educated children. I'm thinking of setting up my own company not just offering standard tutoring but also seminars and ongoing support focused on teaching parents too. It seems to me that more parents would home ed (especially for gcse) if they had more idea how to go about it. What does anyone think?

Cagliostro Sun 26-Feb-17 22:57:07

A few home ed parents do that sort of thing locally, so yes I think that could be a good idea. Workshops on how to deliver a maths curriculum at home, that kind of thing. smile

I agree about more parents HEing if they were more confident. A lot of people I know who HE are nervous about secondary education, and stop after year 6, because they are worried about how to manage to teach secondary.

ParadiseCity Sun 26-Feb-17 23:02:04

I have dc at junior and secondary and both schools offer education sessions for parents just to support DC with homework. I think HE parents would benefit even more from that sort of thing. Teaching is REALLY HARD.

Saracen Mon 27-Feb-17 12:25:54

Do you home educate your own kids too?

As a parent I would be interested in this sort of thing, but only from someone who had extensive personal experience of home educating (not just as a tutor). Home education can be approached in many ways, even at GCSE level, and this tends to take newcomers quite a long time to understand.