Talk

Advanced search

Thinking of Home educating while waiting for school place. can this be done.

(14 Posts)
starrih1 Mon 31-Mar-14 14:20:48

This is my first post on mumsnet as I am a proper newbie!

Me my DS and DP are in the process of moving to the Four Oaks area in Sutton Coldfield, Birmingham. I am desperately trying to organise a school place for my DS who is currently in Yr2 at his other school.

The problem is all the schools in the new area are over subscribed and there are huge waiting lists. I have his name down on 5 waiting lists, and he is number 2 on the list of the closest school which is also our preferred choice.
The school he attends now is 8 miles from where we are moving to and although this might not seem a lot, I don't drive and so it would mean both a train and bus journey every day there and back. Also the schools I have been offered by Birmingham LEA are not much closer than this anyway. 3 are two buses away and the fourth one bus journey, but it is not in an area we would like to send him to, if you know what I mean, also this fourth school has a terrible OFSTED.

So that he can continue going to school, while we are waiting for a more local place to the new house, I am prepared to commute him back to his current school, but my DP is very much against this as he feels it would be too much for him and he wants me to Home School him in the meantime while we wait for his place to come up.

My question is: Is this possible and if I deregister him from his current school will this effect his place on the list of the school we want him to go to. I am quite excited about home-schooling him for a while and think that I can really help him in all aspects and increase his confidence in subjects before going to his new school. I also think going to one new school for a while and then another one after that could damage his confidence. Although I am nervous about how long this maybe for.