Talk

Advanced search

Classroom Secrets on BBC1, anyone watch it?

(8 Posts)
JazminKennedy Thu 14-Jul-11 23:58:54

I was flicking through the channels and came accross this prog and OMGosh did my jaws drop, i know i've been out of teaching (in schools) for 6 years now but what the heck, is it really that bad in schools now?shock

This is the link to the bbc iplayer: www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b012ltz9/Classroom_Secrets/

duchesse Fri 15-Jul-11 00:10:53

As a (former) secondary teacher, nothing will surprise me. Especially how surprised I suspect the parents will be about their child's misbehaviour.

JazminKennedy Fri 15-Jul-11 00:19:02

Gosh, don't remind me about secondary schools, i started training in secondary education, only did 6 months, i knew either i'd kill someone or get killed myslef!shock Since then i have always said that i would never ever send my kids to a secondary school!

Saracen Fri 15-Jul-11 07:30:29

Looks just like when I was at primary school! Only we weren't allowed to get up so much. Still, it's possible to engage in plenty of "low-level disruption" from one's seat... small wonder it takes a whole day at school to cover what HE kids can get through in less than an hour.

I counted just 24 children in that class. Think what it would be like with another half-dozen!

ZZZenAgain Fri 15-Jul-11 10:57:01

what?!
Just how did it ever come to the point where anyone at all could believe that this is how it is/has to be and even one teacher should have to teach under conditions like this?

I couldn't do it.

duchesse Fri 15-Jul-11 11:37:29

Beleive it was v v tame compared to a standard secondary classroom. Roughly the same number of disruptive elements (4-5 per class) as in any other class in the land but much low-level and localised than it could be and often is in 2ndary.

gallicgirl Fri 15-Jul-11 11:53:39