Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Help with living room colour

(9 Posts)
Holidaycheer Sun 05-Nov-17 20:14:50

Can anyone help me find the right colour of dulux to go with this wallpaper? I want a brown or a beige but I'm not sure if I should go for a darker chocolate brown, lighter shade of brown, taupe or beige/off white? I'm terrible with colours and decorating and really want a nice rustic and cosy living room.
The wallpaper will by on my chimney breast with all the other walls painted. I'm looking at the dulux mix lab range at the minute as I want something that's washable. I have a brown sofa, oak furniture and a gold mirror if that helps.

Optimist1 Sun 05-Nov-17 20:43:51

Great trees, Holiday!

None of the colours you suggest for your remaining walls appear to feature in the wallpaper, though. Sorry, I'm no interior designer but I think there should be an echo of a colour or shade from the wallpaper in the plain walls. The trees are composed of cold colours, whereas you're aiming to pair them with colours that are essentially warm. (I see where you're coming from given the colours of your furniture, though). I'd opt for a very pale grey or white paint for the plain walls which should marry well with the wallpaper and still look good with the browns/golds of the furniture.

Holidaycheer Sun 05-Nov-17 20:54:23

Thank you Optimist, like I said I'm terrible with colours!
Ok I will have to rethink the wallpaper as I am not a fan of grey and I don't want white as I had to have white for so long before we moved so want a bit of colour now I can. I was hoping the wallpaper would pop out. It's a shame as it looks nice and have a shimmery cream sheen to it. I haven't found any other wallpaper I like yet.
What colour would you suggest for a wallpaper to match brown?

Optimist1 Sun 05-Nov-17 21:33:02

I'm nervous that you're taking notice of what I might have to suggest, now!! Just having a look to see if there's something that might fit the bill ...