Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Teaching, midwifery, nursing or accountancy?

(34 Posts)
nikki1978 Wed 26-Aug-09 13:53:48

I don't know what to do?!

I decided a few months ago that now my dd is starting school next month and my DS starts nursery (2 mornings until April then 5 mornings until he starts school in Sept 2011) I wanted to retrain. I was a admin/PA for about 7 years then when I had the kids I did book keeping part time which I am still doing now.

My husband and I want to emigrate to Australia in about 7 years too so this is a factor in deciding what to do as I would be the person whose skills would get us residency.

At first I was going to do a Primary Teaching degree as it would fit well round having kids as a degree and a profession. However it seems that the market is saturated with primary school teachers and I don't want to study for a career with few job prospects.

I also looked at an English Lit degree with a secondary teacher PGCE (secondary school teachers are currently very much in demand in Aus and here). However I don't think Eng Lit is a very sought after subject and if we did end up staying in this country I don't think I would want to be a secondary school teacher here particularly as I live near London and the teenagers are awful.

Midwifery appeals to me but it seems that the hours for the degree are long and unpredictable and you wouldn't know what kind of financial help you could get until the last minute. DH has his own company but contracts his services out and has to work shifts and nights a few times a month (don't know these rotas until the month before often). We only earn just over £30k between us and all that is allocated to pay bills, debt, etc. Also midwifery seems to be very very competitive. However you do not have to pay to do a midwifery degree as I understand it so I would not be lumbered with a huge student loan at the end of it.