PhD offer and major doubts..

(7 Posts)
highlycaffeinated Thu 09-Apr-20 22:42:57

Hello!

So just looking for some advice really. No one in my family has as much as an as-level so i have no one in my personal life to talk to!

I am currently a final year BSc student due to be graduating this summer in a relevant but ultimately niche field (Agriculture related). I have never really known what i wanted to do afterwards, but the opportunity for a funded 4 year PhD has come up in my area of interest and by some stroke of luck i have been offered it!

Was feeling pretty positive...until I sent them my confirmation of acceptance. Now having major wobbles about the whole thing. I have been thinking about pros and cons and will try to put them into words as best as i can.

Pros:
- I have always enjoyed problem solving and finding answers and have
hence really enjoyed my undergrad research project this year
- The field of study is largely aligned with my interests (granted I wouldn't have necessarily come up with the question myself but I can see myself finding it interesting nevertheless)
- The salary is more then enough for me to live off of
- The location is ideal
- I know the supervisor well and have a good relationship with them

Pros that are ultimately not very good reasons but i will list them nonetheless:
- It would be very cool to be Dr HighlyCaffeinated
- Goodness knows how the job market is gonna end up after all this, so I would have at least 4 years worth of financial security
- I would always been academically minded and would just like to see if i can do it!

Cons:
- I doubt my abilities --> more of a confidence thing, always have done
- I am fully aware of how awful the academic job market is and really don't fancy moving all over the country fighting for temporary post doc positions
- If i don't end up in academia, i will be 27 upon finishing with no 'real' industry experience, is a PhD likely to be a barrier to getting industry jobs?