Talk

Advanced search

Any mums on here studying pt higher degrees?

(3 Posts)
eldeeno Sat 18-Jan-20 13:20:59

Going back to uni to study for a part time doctorate in education alongside my 0.8 teaching job.

Just wondering whether there are any other mums (or dads!) who have / are doing this and can offer any advice / tips / life hacks to survive the next 6 years?

OP’s posts: |
bibliomania Tue 21-Jan-20 12:14:13

Hi OP, I finished a part-time PhD last year, alongside ft work and being a single parent to one dd.

I think everyone's experience is quite unique, so any comments I have are really more for my younger self rather than anyone else!

- It's less about the intellectual demand (persistence matters more than genius) and more about the psychological demands on you. If you're applying for a PhD, chances are you see yourself as someone good at the academic side of things. Prepare to have that turned on its head and to find yourself utterly, painfully aware of your limitations. If you've gone through a Masters, you've had the ego-boosting sense of literally "mastering" what needs to be known. But now you've got to figure it all out for yourself - it's like being confronted with a vast, unknowable ocean of information. You don't have to conquer it all, but just to work out the navigable routes (and be able to justify why those routes and not other ones).

- Linked to the above, I found my relationship with supervisors more challenging (might be a personality thing). As a Masters student, I felt like a non-expert talking to experts, who were encouraging whenever I said anything reasonably relevant. As a PhD student, I felt like a wannabe expert talking to experts, who were much readier to smack me down.