Talk

Advanced search

Accredited Computer Science degrees

(11 Posts)
SpeedwellX Tue 07-Jan-20 23:38:00

Does it matter if a Computer Science degree is accredited? DS currently applying through UCAS. He liked Liverpool Hope but course does not appear to be accredited. Would he be better to choose York, Aberystwyth or Loughborough instead (all of which offer accredited courses)?

OP’s posts: |
SpoonBlender Tue 07-Jan-20 23:52:07

"An accredited degree entitles you to professional membership of BCS, which is an important part of the criteria for achieving Chartered IT Professional (CITP) status through the Institute."

It means nothing in the workplace. I've been hiring CS grads for jobs for fifteen years, never once have I hired anyone who made noise about CITP membership.

SpeedwellX Wed 08-Jan-20 15:47:53

@SpoonBlender

Thank you so much for this advice. That is really helpful.

EBearhug Wed 08-Jan-20 15:49:54

I agree - no one will care. I would look at course content and reviews, but not at accreditation.

SpoonBlender Wed 08-Jan-20 18:03:32

Similarly I got a Royal Institute membership on completing my own further ed - never did me any good, just cost me £300 a year until I grew confident enough in my own CV to give up on it.

I've asked my current HR team today and they agree - they consider such things more likely to indicate low experience or that the candidate is a bit poncy rather than being a plus! We're a science/tech industry with lots of PhDs.

Becca19962014 Wed 08-Jan-20 18:07:50

I wouldn't have got my year out placement if I'd been on a non accredited degree. It was what made the difference between me and others. When I graduated it helped me work in a statement later field and gain creditation towards that profession and some exemption (and I could work in that profession without being a member of the professional body).

SpeedwellX Wed 08-Jan-20 22:56:06

Becca. What is s statement later field?

Becca19962014 Thu 09-Jan-20 10:17:57