Talk

Advanced search

Graduate Medicine

(11 Posts)
MummytoCSJH Mon 01-Jul-19 12:24:14

I'm about to start my second year of a forensic anthropology degree. I have always wanted to be a doctor (surgeon actually!) but due to my circumstances including having a baby young and now having a long term illness I didn't do the a-levels I needed to do medicine at uni. I did well in my a-levels and I'm on track to get a high 2:1 if not a 1st. I've now found out about graduate entry medicine and I really want to do it! But... everything I've read says how hard it is to fit in around children, the shifts etc, I'm not a single parent as such as my son does have his Dad too but we're not together and we live quite far away from each other. Does anyone have experience of doing a graduate entry medicine degree and can advise? By the time I finish my first degree my son will be 8. For most GEM degrees you need healthcare experience. My degree is a 4 year course and 3rd year is a placement year, so I want to look into working in orthopaedics to gain some experience, but I need to start planning now as applications start in September, I don't want to waste my time gaining the wrong experience if it turns out to be impossible.

OP’s posts: |
MummytoCSJH Mon 01-Jul-19 12:36:46

Wanted to add I'm only 21, so I'll be 24 when I finish this course/start the new course. Then that course is 4 years.

Hiphopopotamous Mon 01-Jul-19 12:48:35

Happy for PMs, my DH was a GEM and I did undergrad so between us we have done both routes.
We had no dependents and did the courses full time, they were very full on. When you start working the shifts are awful but you can work part time, I'm doing that now and with a job share we haven't struggled with childcare or work life balance. Your heart has to be in it to put up with a lot of the crap and depending on speciality you may end up moving your family around the country to follow your dreams.

MummytoCSJH Mon 01-Jul-19 12:59:36