Talk

Advanced search

Any medical student mums out there?

(18 Posts)
Bethyo Tue 22-Jan-19 18:40:27

Just wondering how you balance family with studying, and if you have any pearls of wisdom for me?!😃

OP’s posts: |
ProfessorLayton1 Tue 22-Jan-19 20:46:16

Are you a medic mum or just want to know? smile

HarryTheSteppenwolf Tue 22-Jan-19 22:14:37

Sorry, I can't help with direct personal experience (wrong sex and not a medic) but I know several students at the medical school where I work are mothers, and several have even had babies while they've been students (obviously carefully timed to arrive during holidays or in pre-planned years out). The main impression they give is of being very, very organized and having supportive partners, who aren't students or doctors.

Bethyo Tue 22-Jan-19 22:44:58

@ProfessorLayton1 I'm a potential future medical student mum, just wondered how other people have managedsmile

Bethyo Tue 22-Jan-19 22:47:45

@HarryTheSteppenwolf that makes sensesmile At least I've finished having babies (as far as I'm concerned!)wink

ProfessorLayton1 Wed 23-Jan-19 06:35:58

So, you have had children and you are considering Medicine as career.

For a start - choose your medical school carefully as some schools send their student miles away from their university in the later years.

The workload is heavy when compared to other courses but this can be managed if you are organised and have good child care.
Good luck !

Bethyo Wed 23-Jan-19 08:10:56

Thank you @ProfessorLayton1 smile

I've already had two interviews (Warwick and Bart's) and have my final interview tomorrow (Newcastle). I only applied to those three as they fitted my criteria and (more critically!) I fitted theirs. Although Bart's would be a struggle, living in Londonconfused

It sounds like it's doable though, especially if I don't have to work part-time as I did throughout my first degree.

Babdoc Wed 23-Jan-19 08:53:07