Talk

Advanced search

Moving from Comprehensive to Private for Sixth Form?

(8 Posts)
Avocadoughhh Sun 05-Aug-18 16:49:17

Hello everyone, I am a post-gcse student who has just finished their GCSE exams and is starting sixth form this September. I have seen some forums about private and state sixth forms on Mumsnet before, but I have never seen one specifically from a student's point of view, so I was wondering if you would be willing to give me advice on it. (I know that many mothers here may have had children who went to either type of school in the past.)

For the past year, i have been constantly contemplating on whether I should move to a comprehensive sixth form or a private one for my A Level studies, as I would like a fresh start from my old school that i did my gcses in. I applied to both of the schools and I got offers from both, however I declined the private school offer because I thought that I could do just as well without paying the money, at the comprehensive school. However, after attending the comprehensive school induction day and having met with some of the people at the private school a couple of weeks ago, I have been thinking about my decision, and whether it was the right thing to do. I am aware that if I do ask to go to the private school on results day, they may not take me in, but due to the nature of the school, i believe that they will still be willing to accept me, as long as the money is paid.

So, here is a pro and con list of the two schools:

Comprehensive School - Backwell School (anyone know?):
PRO - an environment I'm already used to (because it's comprehensive)
PRO - can do clubs that help charities, orchestras, etc
PRO - as it's a state school, perhaps unis will be more lenient toward them so improve my chances of getting into med school?
PRO - send a couple of people to Oxbridge every year - 1 person got into Oxford medical school last year (but there are around 300 students per year...)