Talk

Advanced search

Mock interviews and personal statements

(18 Posts)
ConfusedCathy Mon 02-Oct-17 13:10:47

I volunteered to help at my old school, reading personal statements and doing some mock interviews.

I'm an English graduate, and now I'm a journalist/author/editor. Apparently there are no girls applying for English, or journalism, or media studies, or anything like that, so the head has allocated me three girls applying for psychology. I know nothing about psychology. I did tell the head this - but he said it would be worthwhile anyway and I can do general questions.

I've now been sent one of the three personal statements and I don't understand it. It's ALL about psychology and what books she's read, conferences she's been to, theories she agrees with... I thought it would be more general. And I thought interviews would be more specific - I remember mine being about books I'd read and what I thought of them.

SO, I'm close to pulling out but I wondered if anyone closer to the application process than I am (I did my UCCA form in 1992!) could offer any advice or guidance on how to approach this?

user918273645 Mon 02-Oct-17 14:23:05

Very few universities interview at all these days, outside Oxbridge, subjects such as medicine etc.

ConfusedCathy Mon 02-Oct-17 14:32:23

I think they're probably Oxbridge applicants, user.

Chaotica Mon 02-Oct-17 14:38:08

I'm not really sure you can do this if you don't know psychology. The questions won't fit what an Oxbridge interview would be like at all. (Trust me, I know.) Can the school find someone else?

ConfusedCathy Mon 02-Oct-17 14:42:51

Urgh, that's what I thought, Chaotica. I went to a RG uni (before there was such a thing as RG universities, admittedly) and my interview was really subject specific. I imagine Oxbridge would be even more so.

Kez100 Mon 02-Oct-17 16:59:56