Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Computing: What's the difference between these degrees?!

(7 Posts)
Draylon Thu 15-Jun-17 15:51:35

DS finally beginning to consider his post 18 options, so for my edification, can anyone tell me the difference between these degree courses?

Computing
Computer Science
Computing and Information Systems
Information Technology

TIA!

DottyDynamite Thu 15-Jun-17 20:55:02

Information Technology or IT is generally much more business related whereas Computing or Computer Science is far more technical and likely to lead to a job as a Developer. I work in the industry and would be put off by a graduate applying with an IT degree, unless it was a business based role. However, there's a lot of variation within Computing degrees and much would depend on A levels taken and expected grades. Top courses are looking for Maths and Further Maths A levels, and I would be wary of a Computing course that wasn't looking for at least one Maths A level.

7461Mary18 Thu 15-Jun-17 22:10:18

I am a lawyer not a computer person (although done a huge amount of work with that industry) and I suspect also it will matter what the status of the institution is more generally eg Computer Science at Cambridge and AAA at A level including maths and further maths probably stands you in very good stead.

VoteMe Fri 16-Jun-17 08:23:17

Computer Science has one of the highest drop out rates and one of the suggested reasons is that students don't really understand what it is so it's definitely worthwhile finding out smile

As the previous poster said Computer Science is generally lots and lots of maths.

How about getting some prospectuses sent to you so you can have a look at the course content.

Draylon Fri 16-Jun-17 17:40:17

DS is doing a 3 A level equivalent BTEC in Computing at present, so at least he has a reasonable knowledge of that the module titles mean, unlike me!

He said that CS was 'about algorithms and stuff', i.e. mathsy!