Talk

Advanced search

MFL degree and language experience

(80 Posts)
bevelino Mon 29-May-17 18:43:06

Dd is currently on a gap year and has a confirmed university place to study 2 MFL languages. Do universities assume all post A'level students have a similar ability? How are the lectures/seminars arranged where you have near fluent speakers and others who are not?

Are students tested and grouped by ability or are the less fluent students expected to catch up with the more experienced speakers?

Rioja123 Mon 29-May-17 18:46:59

I did French and Spanish. You have lectures and seminars on topics relating to the two languages whether that is literature or linguistics, or history/politics type modules and oral classes once a week. Of course there will be some who are better than others, but everyone is a decent standard usually.

RedMetamorphosis Mon 29-May-17 18:56:42

I studied French. There were never any assessments of our speaking ability, just the assumption that everyone was at least at a B grade at A Level.

All of our modules were in English but by the 2nd and final years, we were writing essays in French. I did more linguistics modules which may explain why they were more in English.

My spoken French was always poor (still is now) and I admit to being put off when put into an oral speaking group in 1st year with 3 people who were fluent/bilingual.

Until the year abroad, we were all assumed to have an average level of French. After the year abroad, it stepped up big time and assumed we were all nearly fluent.

bojorojo Mon 29-May-17 19:12:13