Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Secondary Sci to Uni Admin

(8 Posts)
mumofoneofeach75 Sat 01-Apr-17 13:44:33

Hello, I'm hoping to get some advice on a possible career change. I've been a secondary science teacher for 9 years and need to leave - work place bullying, excessive workload, unachievable targets etc etc. I've looked for jobs in all sorts of areas, schools data officer, school admin etc but there's not much in my area. After widening my search and signing up for more job alerts, lots of uni admin jobs are coming up. I'm a single mum and not sure how I would cope with such a big drop in salary. But I'm really desperate and at over 40, don't think I have a lot of options. If I could do some exam marking and tutoring on the side, could I make this work? I'm considering an au pair for child care to help with having to work the school holidays. Any advice would be much appreciated.

BizzyFizzy Sat 01-Apr-17 13:51:36

Can't comment on the uni admin job, but as Secondary Science, you have options.

I imagine the workplace bullying includes telling you that no one else will employ you, but that is not what the market is like.

If you want to continue with science teaching, then update your CV and put it up on the Reed Education website. You will be flooded with responses.

PM me if you would like to chat. I am an over 50 science teacher with plenty of experience in the job market, and of bullying.

mumofoneofeach75 Sat 01-Apr-17 13:59:23

Thanks so much for your speedy reply. I'm not sure I want to continue in teaching - I'm one of those who takes everything personally and having worked in an unpleasant environment has really knocked my confidence. I'm also worried about my son who is starting his GCSEs and has made a bad start - I don't have any time to help him -he's terrible at science sad. Hoping to find something, with more regular hours, no excessive work to do at home, no OFSTED.......

BizzyFizzy Sat 01-Apr-17 14:07:30