Talk

Advanced search

Student Finance/ Childcare Grant

(3 Posts)
justme12345 Wed 30-Nov-16 12:28:54

I've changed my name for privacy for this post. I don't wish to disclose my full financial information, but was hoping for advice based on the information I can give.
I'm a full time student at university in England. I'm married and live in a house with my husband and our 15 month old little boy (it's a student house technically, but we know and have a good relationship with the landlord).
My husband has had financial difficulty in the past (I don't want to go into that), and is currently working but is on a low income.
I get my student loan to live on at the beginning of every term, out of which I pay my rent (dh pays his rent himself). This is fine.
I also applied for the childcare grant for help with childcare costs (my lb is with a childminder). I had to estimate the costs earlier in the year when I first applied, then once he'd been going for a few weeks I had to fill in another form to confirm my costs. They wanted costs from September until the 23rd of October. I received some money from them, but the amount I received barely covered 3 weeks of childcare.
I phoned them up and they told me that I should receive a further payment once the second form had been processed. Obviously my childminder wants paying. It's now nearly December and I have not yet received any further payments.
So I contacted them again and was told this: I have to pay the childcare provider from my own pocket, and then they pay me the FOLLOWING term. They can not pay for childcare I have not yet had- even though my hours were confirmed and would not change.