Talk

Advanced search

Calling anyone with a DC that's had an offer to do English Lit at Edinburgh

(20 Posts)
cathyandclare Wed 31-Aug-16 17:47:59

DD is looking at applying for entry in 2017 and the grades on the website are an eye-watering A star A star A. Is that pretty standard for there? I remember Exeter chucking out some absurdly high offers last year it seems incredibly tricky, especially as the arts and humanities can be rather subjective.
DD1 had an A star A A offer for similar subjects last year and despite thinking the exams went well, only got the grades after a remark, so I'm a little bruised by the experience.

Cakescakescakes Wed 31-Aug-16 17:51:30

Edinburgh has always been exceptionally high for English Lit. I did my Lit degree 15 years ago and it was AAA then (pre A star days).

bojorojo Wed 31-Aug-16 18:04:37

If Edinburgh say that is their standard offer, then you have to accept that it is. There must be lower standard offers elsewhere but offers usually reflect popularity and not necessarily quality of degree. Although I am not saying Edinburgh is not top class!

bojorojo Wed 31-Aug-16 18:13:58

Kings College London is AAA as is York and Nottingham. Bristol and Durham require A*AA so this gives a flavour of where you can get a lower standard offer at highly respected universities.

cathyandclare Wed 31-Aug-16 18:21:00

Yes, DD1 is also doing English, so I thought we were fairly clued up.
Obviously things have changed with time, I was pretty sure the standard offer was lower last year. I also wondered if they were going for a weed-out-all-the-oxbridge-back-ups approach. Bristol and Durham are on the list, I think Warwick in AAA too and has a great English department.

cathyandclare Wed 31-Aug-16 18:32:15

Sorry, Bojo I should have said thanks smile

< sits self on naughty step>

bojorojo Wed 31-Aug-16 22:36:22

I do not see how high grades make people put the uni as firm though. If your offer from Oxford is AAA then why not take that?