Talk

Advanced search

Help me choose a Masters?

(7 Posts)
FTFOAFOSM Mon 29-Aug-16 19:35:02

Just starting the last module of a BA(Hons) English lit with the OU. DH thinks I should do a MA/MSc - No matter how I do this year, I should get a 2:1 (according to the grade calculator - and the uni confirmed this on the phone when I registered for my final module).
The last twenty years I've been a self-employed music teacher and SAHM. I worked FT for one year for the local county council as a PA to the Directorate of Adult Social Care. DH works for a company that produce online tv content for the telecommunications industry, and I've already been discussing doing some work for them, so doing something related to that might make sense, and I'm guessing it would count as experience, which is what a publishing or digital media course would be looking for.
SO - I'm thinking either a MA in Publishing (ensuring there are an e-book publishing and children's lit publishing module's in it) but this would likely have to involve a commute to London, which complicates things. OR, my local uni (Sussex) does a Digital Media MA. I was thinking of Development Studies, but my DSIL put me off it, (she works for Oxford uni, so knows quite a bit about these things). I would dearly love something like Politics or International Law, but think that I would stand a better chance of getting a better uni if I stick to something related to the degree I've done.
So - hit me with it - is it just pie in the sky to think I could get into the publishing or media arenas?

Aimee1991 Tue 30-Aug-16 09:37:03

Not sure if this is helpful but if you are local to Manchester there is a small event for Roehampton Uni, Manchester campus tomorrow where you can talk to them about different options, no doubt they could give you some helpful advice.

I got an email alert, can't seem to copy it but here is the link for more info:
iecabroad.com/universities/university-roehampton-manchester-centre/