Talk

Advanced search

Is MFL vital for UNI?

(14 Posts)
Confuddled101 Mon 13-Jun-16 21:33:35

My daughter is taking the following GCSE's starting in September...
English Lang
English Lit
Maths
Triple Science
History
Latin
Computing (Computer science)
1/2 RS
French

Her tutor thinks that the amount of prep needed for those subjects will equate to between 13-14 hours per week.

The only subject she doesn't enjoy is French.
The school thinks that she can drop French.

When it comes to University applications, will she be penalised for not having a MFL?

She doesn't know what she wants to do yet. Possibly law, science or business.

dreamingofsun Tue 14-Jun-16 10:59:32

I'm no educational expert, but my son didn't take any languages at gcse. the school weren't happy, but my argument was why drop a subject he could get a good grade in to take one he is unlikely to pass.

anyway, he had offers from all the russell group type uni's he applied to (and went to interviews for). so for him its not made any difference at all. no-one has ever questioned about languages, including the new sixth he's attending.

aginghippy Tue 14-Jun-16 11:48:03

The school is right, it's not vital. She wouldn't be penalised. Most unis/courses don't require it at all. Let her drop French.

UCL, for example, require students who don't have a MFL GCSE to do a language once they are there. It's not a requirement for admission.

GoudyStout Tue 14-Jun-16 12:04:58

It was required when I went to uni back in the 1980s, but not any more. We asked the same question for DS, as he isn't into MFLs either.

japanesegarden Tue 14-Jun-16 13:19:40

back in the day when you needed a language it was usually possible to substitute Latin or Ancient Greek anyway. She'd have that plus a humanity with the history, so I am sure it would be fine for anywhere (UCL proviso as above).

Confuddled101 Tue 14-Jun-16 15:24:41

Thank you very much for your comments dreamingofsun, aginghippy, GoutyStout and japanesegarden.