Unsure of what to study

(7 Posts)
judith123321 Sun 12-Jun-16 13:20:18

Really not sure what to study

I have a lovely relationship with my guy and we are getting married at end of the year. I work as a receptionist, it is an easy job and we make enough money between us and some left over to pay off a bit extra on the mortgage.

I'm not sure if I want to change career. I'm only 27 and not sure I want to be a receptionist for the next 41 years - even though it is easy and I like my work colleagues and I can be home in 4 minutes

I can get a student loan for a degree which I will probably never pay back, so it makes sense for me to do a degree.

I just really don't know what to study, I love history but don't like the modules on open uni, and also what do you do with a degree in history? Teach? I don't want to do that? Work at national trust? I don't want to work Saturdays and Sunday's.

Business then? That's always good but I am on module 4 to complete my first year and find it hard and also boring.

I just really don't know what I want to do for next 41 years.

Booboostwo Sun 12-Jun-16 14:36:37

I think you need to consider two separate questions:

Are you happy with your job and your career prospects? If not, do you want to make a change now or in the future? Do you have another job in mind that interests you or do you have an ambition your job needs to fulfil (e.g. more money, or working part time, or being promoted to a specific role)?