Talk

Advanced search

Academics - how to stop being a procrastinator?

(50 Posts)
CityDweller Thu 02-Jul-15 15:51:05

I'm a terrible procrastinator, always have been. But it's really becoming an issue. I'm 25 wks pregnant with DC2 and have a shit load to do before the baby comes, including finishing publications that had deadlines months and months ago.

The internet is my biggest vice. I've tried those site-blocking apps (wastenotime, etc) but they only work up to a point (they're too easy to bypass) and I can't completely switch off the internet as I need it to access legitimate research things online, such as libraries and journals.

Historically, the only things that have really got me working efficiently are fear (e.g. while I was a postgrad student - so much work, very clever peers) and rock-solid deadlines (e.g. PhD and book manuscript submissions). Alas they rarely works anymore as I've long since realised that deadlines are not in any way fixed sad and that there's nothing much to fear anymore (I'm in a permanent post, at a decent uni). Typically I work in fits and bursts of nothing for ages and then frenzied periods of activity to get something done. Ideally I'd like to work in a more consistent, 'chip away a little bit a day' at things rather than my usual tactic of writing a chapter or article in 4 panicky days

Help me! (Although I'm not sure why I'm asking you, cos if you're on MN you're clearly as bad as me grin)

CityDweller Thu 02-Jul-15 15:53:16

God, learning how to write might help too

they rarely work

lljkk Thu 02-Jul-15 15:59:53

Why do you like being an academic? Which are the bits you don't procrastinate on?

It's hard when pg, though, hormones take over your mind.

CityDweller Thu 02-Jul-15 16:31:55

Good question. I don't procrastinate on the easy/boring things (eg short admin tasks) even though this is the part I enjoy the least. The two things I ostensibly enjoy the most (research and teaching) are the ones I procrastinate on.