Talk

Advanced search

£10k postgrad loans for under 30s

(6 Posts)
Spindelina Thu 04-Dec-14 11:03:39

Here's the link on MSE: link

It seems that they will be providing student loans to postgrads, but only if the student is under 30.

Is this ridiculous age discrimination, or a sensible way to target help where it is most needed?

(As an ex mature student, I would say the former. But AIB entitled?)

Cleebourg Thu 04-Dec-14 12:08:19

It was just a question of how long the government would take to realise there was a big hole in tertiary education funding

No you aren't being entitled. I had mixed feelings when I saw the announcement, as younger DC is currently paying 9K for Master's this year through working/scrimping/saving beforehand plus some parental help and probably in the end a loan as DC is stubbornly refusing more help. Older DC did similar with partner's help, at one point holding down two jobs. It is really tough. On the positive side they know the value of money. On the positive side also, they were fortunate in having the means to raise the money (=jobs available, and jobs that added to their skills/experience). But a lot of very talented young people were simply priced out. Older people on their courses tend(ed) to have saved up and weren't taking on debt to do the course. A big point, as I see it, is that my DC did not pay 9K undergraduate fees. Anyone who has to do that deserves all the help they can get. Anyone over 30 will have paid no or much lower undergraduate fees?

UptheChimney Thu 04-Dec-14 12:24:22

This government is managing to wreck a world-class education system.

Spindelina Thu 04-Dec-14 13:12:53

Anyone over 30 will have paid no or much lower undergraduate fees?

What if that 31 year old has just finished their undergrad degree?

Cleebourg Thu 04-Dec-14 13:33:34