Talk

Advanced search

How to cope with a student when the mother of said student wants me to draw a rabbit out of a hat!

(25 Posts)
wonderwoman21 Wed 03-Dec-14 10:00:13

Hi everyone

I am worried about a new student that I will be privately tutoring today. I am a qualified teacher post 16.

She is in her second year at university and has fallen behind due to illness.

Her mother is super keen that when we first started contact, she wanted me to drop everything on the day and tutor her daughter that evening which I couldn't do. Then the student fell ill again and any prep I had done went to waste.

Now I am seeing her today and apart from one topic, I have absolutely no idea what we will be discussing so I am unable to prepare. I have tried emailing and texting the student to find out what else she is working on, with no reply. Her mother has eagerly been in contact saying her daughter needs at least two hours of my time but apart from looking over an essay, I can't see what else we can do!

A degree is so vast, and I can't access the actual curriculum from the university website so I have no idea of essays or deadlines. I am completely in the dark. So I am worried that even though I know the subject, I will appear lacking in knowledge.

I am sure her mother just thinks I will know everything and I simply don't!

Any tips at all apart from making sure I definitely know in advance what she is working on? I have tried, I really have.

Thank you.

Kez100 Wed 03-Dec-14 10:06:00

Could you create a checklist before she comes for you to work through with the ultimate aim being to develop a plan going forward directly tailored to this student?

Ask her to bring her online University passwords with her so you can access module guides and deadlines while she is with you if she cannot remember herself.