Talk

Advanced search

Advice on possible PhD

(10 Posts)
Jilko Fri 28-Sep-12 12:45:37

Hi all, I posted yesterday in Student Parents, but alas no replies as yet...

I am currently a SAHM with DD2 (10m) & DD1 who has just started school.
I would love to do a PhD at some point in the next few years, BUT I'm not sure how realistic this would be?

I have a BSc and a PGDip, but these are from 13yrs ago.
I have 10yrs exp of working in Pharmaceuticals, mainly lab based, though I haven't worked for the past 2 yrs. I know that I would need to get a Masters to stand any chance of getting onto a funded course, but again I'm not sure if I could afford to do this with the childcare I'd need, unless I did OU. I have done a few OU modules in the past and like their approach, though this would take me 3yrs to get an MSc.

Another thing I've read is that, for sciences, the Universities would prefer a research methods MSc? confused

Sorry for the ramble! Any advice on these issues would be appreciated, TIA
smile

NorthernGobshite Fri 28-Sep-12 13:25:26

It is unlikely that you could do a Phd without first an MA/MSc.
I am not sure what advice you want/need as you seem to recognise that it's going to be a legthy process. You could look into paid researcher jobs in local Uni's if that is an option.

creamteas Fri 28-Sep-12 20:03:55

Is your PGDip in a relevant subject to the area of Msc you are looking at? If so you might be able to count some or all of it towards the Masters. The OU is particularly good at this.

It is, as I am sure you know, very competitive to get a funded PhD position and so even if you had the Masters this is no guarantee.

Have a look at both www.jobs.ac.uk and www.findaphd.com/ and see what entry criteria are expected for your discipline

RightsaidFreud Fri 28-Sep-12 20:07:28